### **EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL**

#### **28 NOVEMBER 2018**

#### PRESENT

The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Tom Ross), in the Chair.

D. Acton S. Adshead S.B. Anstee S.K. Anstee Dr. K. Barclay J. Baugh J. Bennett Miss L. Blackburn R. Bowker C. Boyes Mrs. A. Bruer-Morris J. E. Brophy B. Brotherton D. Butt	G. Coggins M. Cordingley J. Coupe A. Duffield Mrs. L. Evans N. Evans M. Freeman Mrs. D.L. Haddad J. Harding J. Holden D. Hopps C. Hynes D. Jarman D. Jerrome J. Lamb J. Lloyd	S. Longden E. Malik A. Mitchell P. Myers K. Procter B. Sharp B. Shaw E.W. Stennett S. Thomas L. Walsh A. Western D. Western M. Whetton A.M. Whyte M. Young Mrs. P. Young
---	---	--

#### In attendance

Interim Chief Executive	J. Taylor
Corporate Director of Governance and Community	J. Le Fevre
Strategy	
Corporate Director of People	S. Saleh
Acting Corporate Director for Adult Services	D. Eaton
Acting Corporate Director for Children's Services	C. Rooney
Head of Governance	P. Forrester
Senior Democratic and Scrutiny Officer	I. Cockill

## **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. Bunting, M. Cawdrey, J. Dillon, M. Hyman, P. Lally, A. New, E. Patel, J.R. Reilly, B. Rigby, J. Slater, S. Taylor, G. Whitham, A.J. Williams and J.A. Wright.

## 44. CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy submitted a report proposing that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Mrs. Pamela Dixon MBE and Mrs. E.V. Ward.

The report advised that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided for the Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in its

# Extraordinary Meeting of the Council 28 November 2018

opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of this Council but who are no longer Councillors.

The Leaders of the Political groups on the Council were extremely pleased to support a Motion to confer the honour of Honorary Alderman upon Mrs. Dixon and Mrs. Ward and paid tribute to their efforts and outstanding contributions on behalf of Trafford and the communities they had served.

Mrs. Dixon was elected as a member of the Council in 1990 and went on to become Mayor of Trafford from 2004 to 2005. She has previously served as Chairman of Governors at Heyes Lane Primary School, Timperley and remained on the governing body today. While she was Mayor, Mrs. Dixon attended in excess of 300 functions and raised more than £50,000 for the Mayor's Charity Fund. Mrs Dixon did not seek re-election at the end of her term in May 2018.

Mrs. Ward was elected on 7 May 1992 and in addition to representing Flixton Ward, made a significant contribution to the borough through her extensive involvement with Planning Committee, most recently as Chairman of the committee. Also a former Mayor of Trafford, Mrs. Ward's contribution to the borough was significant and worthy of acclaim.

Having been moved, seconded and supported, the Motion was unanimously agreed by the Council and it was, therefore:-

RESOLVED: That, being of the opinion that former Councillor Mrs. Pamela Dixon MBE and former Councillor Mrs. E.V. Ward have rendered eminent services as past members of the Council, the Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, hereby confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillor Mrs. Pamela Dixon MBE and former Councillor Mrs. E.V. Ward in recognition of their exceptional service to the Borough of Trafford.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman badges and a bouquet of flowers to Mrs. Dixon and Mrs. Ward and in turn they returned speeches of thanks, expressing their gratitude for the title bestowed upon them.

On behalf of the Council, the Mayor thanked both Mrs. Dixon and Mrs. Ward and congratulated them on being conferred as Trafford Borough Council's first Honorary Aldermen.

The meeting commenced at 6.00 p.m. and finished at 6.33 p.m.